Mama Mia That’s Some Good Pizza

If I were a ninja turtle I’d be Michelangelo. Because…pizza dude!!! (And I wear orange so often people have started assuming I’m Dutch. It’s my favorite color.) I’m no pizza snob, throw me a slice and I’ll make it disappear. That being said, the chefs in Naples are true magicians with a brick oven.

This isn’t your Dominos or Chuck E Cheese pizza (which may have been my favorite place on earth at the ripe age of 7 or 8). Specialty tomatoes local to southern Italy, sundried tomatoes, small pools of melted artesenal cheeses, thinly sliced prosciutto, capers, mushrooms, you get the idea. You can have it traditional or Ripieno, folded over like a calzone. The water in Naples has special properties that allow for the dough to reach that perfect compromise between soft and crunchy.

image

The huge proliferation of pizzerias keeps prices insanely low. At Radici, the most expensive pizza on the menu was 6.5€. You don’t have to have ninja turtle type money (I assume they get royalties for their movies) to have a meal that will make you wanna shout ‘Cowabunga Dude!’, assuming you haven’t already slipped into a food coma.

image

I got to experience a few food comas firsthand during a weekend trip down towards Naples (the town of Bacoli just past Naples) and the island of Procida. To cover the distance between Rome and Naples in a few hours I’d need something smarter than my bicycle, so how about a Smart Car! Andreas and I fit into his Smart Car, which actually was way more comfortable than I was expecting, and hit then highway to visit our friend Irene from the Thai massage gathering at an acro workshop she was leading.

We played with some acro, jumped off some small cliffs near the beach, and soaked up some cosmic rays. A friend Vincenzo from the acro class graciously invited for us to sleep at his house that night, which was fortunate given the aforementioned food coma I had slipped into post pizza at Radici. Surround yourself with nice people and hospitality will follow you wherever you go!

image

The following day we took a boat over to the island of Procida for a day of beach hopping. The sides of the beaches were lined with small caves perfect for meditation, or just imagining you’re a big ass crab. (Which I did happen to imagine during my meditation.)

image

After enjoying the company of Irene and her boyfriend Fabio, Andreas and I hit the road back to Rome. But before we left we had to return to Bacoli for…more pizza. Cowabunga dude!

