Infection the Remix

Unfortunately after two days of antibiotics my left leg had gotten much worse, swelling up to almost double its normal size and turning red and hot to the touch.  So I made my way back to my favorite place, the local hospital.  Upon first sight the doctor told me that the infection wasn’t responding to the medication because it was a more severe type of infection called cellulitis.  They admitted me into the hospital where I would chill for the next two days.

As they loaded me into the wheelchair to take me to my new room on the fourth floor a small army of nurses gathered.  It took four nurses to push me up the stairway; I guess one for each floor.  I got in on the action and used the railing to pull myself forward as the nurses complained that white people are too damn big.

My room was a surprising upgrade from my accommodation at the guest house.  The room had a fully stocked bathroom with hot water and a tv.  To my great surprise, the cable service had Ten Sports showing soccer matches, HBO and Starz showing movies, and VH1 pumping out some tunes.  (VH1 was particularly clutch in the mornings when the babies down the hall would get their shots.)  Following the Arsenal game (which they blew in extra time by missing a penalty on a bogus hand ball) with Inception is a nice distraction from the medication being pumped in your system.

Posted up in the hospital bed for two days with iv’s constantly being changed wasn’t nearly as bad as I would have expected.  The nurses were super nice (except when they would squeeze the iv line to get it started, that hurts like a bitch) and made for some good conversation.  Gabe, Nikky, and Tara stopped by and we played shithead and hung out.  All things considered, it was definitely the most enjoyable stay I’ve had in a hospital.

Image

These hospital beds sure are nice.

If you get injured in India, don’t hesitate to get medical attention because the quality is pretty good and it is fairly cheap.  A two night stay, doctor’s and nurses charges, and medication cost me a total of 18,000 rupees, around $350.  More basic things such as x-rays only cost around 250 rupees, or 5 bucks.

Leaving the hospital and returning to Agonda felt like being released from a cage back into the great outdoors.  With a new respect for the simple things like walking, I was ready to get back into the Agonda groove and resume the good life.

